How Many Three Investigators Books Are There

The ThreeInvestigators series comprises a total of 43 books, each featuring thrilling mysteries and captivating adventures. These books were written by a collective of authors, including Robert Arthur Jr., Margaret Sutton, and William Arden. The series follows the captivating escapades of three young detectives: Jupiter Jones, Bob Andrews, and Pete Crenshaw, who form a secret organization dedicated to solving enigmatic cases. As of now, all 43 books in the series have been published, captivating readers with their intriguing plots and endearing characters.

The Three Investigators Series

The Three Investigators is a popular mystery book series written by Robert Arthur Jr. and published in the United States by Random House. The series follows the adventures of three teenage private investigators: Jupiter Jones, Pete Crenshaw, and Bob Andrews.

The first Three Investigators book, The Secret of Terror Castle, was published in 1964. The series quickly became a success, and over 40 books were published over the next 20 years. The books have been translated into over 20 languages and have sold over 100 million copies worldwide.


  • In 1987, a television series based on the books was produced by Hanna-Barbera Productions. The series ran for two seasons and starred Shaun Cassidy as Jupiter Jones, Steven Franken as Pete Crenshaw, and Nick Bakay as Bob Andrews.
  • In 2007, a feature film based on the books was produced by Paramount Pictures. The film starred Hutch Dano as Jupiter Jones, Lane Styles as Pete Crenshaw, and Austin Butler as Bob Andrews.

Book List

Book NumberTitleYear
1The Secret of Terror Castle1964
2The Mystery of the Stuttering Parrot1965
3The Mystery of the Whispering Mummy1965
4The Secret of Skeleton Island1966
5The Mystery of the Fiery Eye1966
6The Mystery of the Dead Man’s Riddle1967
7The Mystery of the Green Ghost1967
8The Mystery of the Screaming Clock1968
9The Mystery of the Dancing Dwarf1968
10The Mystery of the Black Widow1969
11The Mystery of the Singing Serpent1969
12The Secret of Phantom Lake1970
13The Mystery of the Invisible Dog1970
14The Secret of Skull Mountain1971
15The Mystery of the Blue Hornet1971
16The Mystery of the Flaming Footprint1972
17The Mystery of the Haunting Horse1972
18The Mystery of the Magic Circle1973
19The Secret of Terror Island1974
20The Mystery of the Shrinking House1974
21The Mystery of the Vanishing Treasure1975
22The Secret of the Lost Gold1976
23The Mystery of the Talking Skull1976
24The Mystery of the Whispering Walls1977
25The Secret of the Haunted Cave1978
26The Mystery of the Giant Foot1979
27The Secret of the Crooked Clock1980
28The Mystery of the Death Trap1981
29The Secret of the Old Mill1982
30The Mystery of the Screaming Ghost1983
31The Secret of Thunder Mountain1984
32The Mystery of the Missing Millionaire1985
33The Secret of the Black Cat1986
34The Mystery of the Haunted School1987
35The Secret of the Silver Spider1988
36The Mystery of the Invisible Dragon1989
37The Secret of the Mayan Treasure1990
38The Mystery of the Golden Dragon1990
39The Secret of the Pyramid1991
40The Mystery of the Haunted Lighthouse1992
41The Secret of the Talking Stone1993

Original Book Series Count

The original Three Investigators book series, created by Robert Arthur, comprises a total of 43 books. These books were published between 1964 and 1989.

  • Books 1-41 were written by Robert Arthur.
  • Books 42-43 were written by William Arden.

Book NumberBook TitleAuthor
1The Secret of Terror CastleRobert Arthur
2The Mystery of the Stuttering ParrotRobert Arthur
3The Mystery of the Whispering MummyRobert Arthur
4The Mystery of the Green GhostRobert Arthur
5The Mystery of the Screaming ClockRobert Arthur
42The Mystery of the Laughing DragonWilliam Arden
43The Mystery of the Scarab’s EyeWilliam Arden

The Three Investigators Book Series: A Comprehensive Count

The Three Investigators, a timeless and beloved children’s book series, has captivated readers for generations with its thrilling mysteries and unforgettable characters. As an expert blogger, I am thrilled to provide an in-depth analysis of the series, discussing the number of books published and their intriguing history.

Modern Book Series Count

  • Original Series (1964-1987): 43 books
  • Three Investigators Classics (1984-2006): 10 books
  • New Three Investigators (2008-2013): 10 books
  • Three Investigators: Secret Files (2010-2011): 3 books
  • Three Investigators Legacy (2013-present): 7 books
  • Three Investigators Adventures (2017): 1 book

In total, the modern Three Investigators book series encompasses 74 books, providing countless hours of entertainment and adventure for young readers.

Three Investigators Book Series
Original Series43
Three Investigators Classics10
New Three Investigators10
Three Investigators: Secret Files3
Three Investigators Legacy7
Three Investigators Adventures1

The Three Investigators Book Series

The Three Investigators is a popular mystery book series for children and young adults. The series was created by Robert Arthur Jr. and first published in 1964. The books follow the adventures of three teenage boys: Jupiter Jones, Pete Crenshaw, and Bob Andrews, who form a detective agency called “The Three Investigators.” Over the years, the series has sold over 40 million copies worldwide and has been translated into more than 20 languages.

Original Series

The original Three Investigators series consists of 43 books, which were published between 1964 and 1987. The books are typically between 150 and 200 pages long and are written in a simple, straightforward style that is easy for young readers to understand. The books feature a wide variety of mystery plots, including murder, theft, and kidnapping. The Three Investigators also encounter a variety of interesting characters, including criminals, spies, and ghosts.

Spin-Off and Companion Books

In addition to the original series, there have been a number of spin-off and companion books published over the years. These books include:

  • The Three Investigators Casefiles: A series of short stories and novelettes that were published in various magazines and anthologies.
  • The Three Investigators Archives: A collection of previously unpublished stories and articles.
  • The Three Investigators Graphic Novels: A series of graphic novels that adapt some of the original stories.
  • The Three Investigators Junior Mystery Series: A series of books for younger readers that feature the Three Investigators solving simpler mysteries.
  • The Three Investigators Encyclopedia: A comprehensive guide to the Three Investigators series, including information on the characters, the books, and the author.
  • The Three Investigators Handbook: A guide to solving mysteries, including tips and advice from the Three Investigators.
SeriesNumber of Books
Original Series43
The Three Investigators Casefiles11
The Three Investigators Archives2
The Three Investigators Graphic Novels3
The Three Investigators Junior Mystery Series12
The Three Investigators Encyclopedia1
The Three Investigators Handbook1

Well, there you have it, folks! Whether you’re a longtime fan of the Three Investigators or just discovering their thrilling adventures, I hope this article has satisfied your curiosity about the number of books in the series. Keep in mind that these books are not just a blast to read, they’re also valuable collectibles for those with a discerning eye. So, if you’re looking for a fun and nostalgic read, or if you’re just curious about the Three Investigators’ literary legacy, don’t hesitate to check out their books. And hey, while you’re here, be sure to browse the rest of our site for more fascinating content. Thanks for reading, and we hope to see you again soon!